The Tipping Point for

Tears For Fears

October 7, 2021 by Traci Turner
The British duo that gave us “Everybody Wants to Rule the World,” “Shout,” and “Head Over Heels” is releasing a new album after 17 years. “The Tipping Point” reunites Curt Smith and Roland Orzabal of Tears For Fears and it will be released in February 2022. If you can’t wait until next year, here’s the single of the same name right now.
The song was inspired by “the raw tipping points they, and recently the world, have faced over the last two decades.” Orzabal was also driven to write the track processing “the grief he personally endured watching someone he loved die from a long-term disease.”
Tears For Fears were a staple of the ‘80s with their albums “The Hurting,” “Songs from the Big Chair,” and “The Seeds of Love.” They had hit after hit with the previously mentioned songs, plus “Sowing the Seeds of Love,” “Mad World,” “Pale Shelter,” “Change,” “Mothers Talk,” and one of my forever favorites, “Woman in Chains.”
Since 17 years is an incredibly long time without a full album, many fans have wondered if this day would ever come. “Before everything went so right with this album, everything first had to go wrong, it took years, but something happens when we put our heads together,” Orzabal stated. “We’ve got this balance, this push-me-pull-you thing – and it works really well.”
Smith added, “If that balance doesn’t work on a Tears For Fears album, the whole thing just doesn’t work. To put it in simple terms, a Tears For Fears record and what people perceive to be the sound of Tears For Fears – is the stuff we can both agree on.”

The album will arrive on February 25th and the band is lining up show dates. They have already announced their appearance at Lytham Festival 2022 with Duran Duran, Snow Patrol, Lionel Richie, and Diana Ross. That might be worth a trip to Europe…

The Tipping Point Track List

1. No Small Thing
2. The Tipping Point
3. Long, Long, Long Time
4. Break The Man
5. My Demons
6. Rivers Of Mercy
7. Please Be Happy
8. Master Plan
9. End Of Night
10. Stay

Additional Tracks on the Deluxe CD Edition

11. Let It All Evolve
12. Secret Location
13. Shame (Cry Heaven)


ocmn 2021


%d bloggers like this: