Re-imagine Themselves

January 11, 2023 by Traci Turner
Legendary Irish rockers U2 are releasing a new album this spring, “Songs of Surrender,” which they have billed as “a collection of 40 seminal U2 songs, re-recorded and re-imagined for 2023.” The offering arrives on March 17th, but “Pride (In the Name of Love)” is the first track and was just released.
Curated and produced by U2 guitarist The Edge, the band revisits some of their most beloved songs including “One,” “Sunday Bloody Sunday,” “With or Without You,” “Beautiful Day,” and “Where the Streets Have No Name.”

What does “re-imagined” mean? The Edge explained, “Music allows you to time travel, and we became curious to find out what it would be like to bring our early songs back with us to the present day and give them the benefit, or otherwise, of a 21st century reimagining.”

U2.com subscribers can gain early access to the 2 LP Deluxe Crystal Clear Vinyl while supplies last. In addition to exclusive online content, subscribers can download the limited edition album “U2 Achtung Baby 30 – Live.”
“Songs of Surrender” is available for preorder now and is available as: 40 track Digital; 40 track 4 CD Super Deluxe Hardback Collector’s Edition; 40 track 4 LP Super Deluxe Hardback Collector’s Boxset; 20 track deluxe CD; 16 track 180 gram black vinyl; 16 track standard CD; and 16 track classic white cassette.



U2 Header Photo by Sebastian Kim for Time Magazine

%d bloggers like this: